Chopping Samples

I’m on to my next project. Despite the awful Audio Latency on my Kindle Fire, I’m going to give Su-preme MPA a shot.

This time I am going to try chopping and sampling an already made track using Niko Twenty’s Sonic Chop. I’ve already had a go messing around with it, and the app is VERY user friendly. It looks like the easiest genres to chop and use in hip hop tend to be classical, jazz etc. I think for my first track I am going to use “300 m.p.h Torrential Outpour Blues” by the White Stripes.

I did some research on how to get clean chops, but I ultimately learned you just need to experiment yourself. On the other hand the following video has some very helpful tips. One of the biggest recommendations I read online is to make sure when you play your sample that you can loop it and it sounds natural. Also try to start each chop on a beat. Yeah. Watch the video and have fun.

Just so everyone knows I will not always be focusing on hip hop. I just thought it would be a fun genre to start producing in.

Leave a Reply

