Putting Samples in Caustic 2

Hey all. So my ventures into chopping and sampling have been thus far… Sub par at best. But I figured it would be worth showing everyone a trick I learned from the Caustic forums that enables you to step sequence samples you may have or may have chopped.

Utilizing PCMsynth I have provided a 6 step tutorial below

1) Open a new PCMsynth. Long click the “Sample” button

pcm1

 

2) Select the sample you want to use. Here I Selected a Kick drum

pcmsynth2

 

3) Long press the root key button, then press the keyboard key you want to use.

– If this is your only sample match it to the root note of the sample and you are done

– If this is one of multiple samples you want to insert, choose a root key and continue following the tutorial (C4 is a good key to start with)

pcmsynth3

 

4) Long press Lowkey and match it to the root key

pcmsynth4

 

5) Long press Highkey and match it to the root key

– The sample will now be stuck to the root key and not work with any other

pcmsynth5

 

6) Short press sample and turn the dial to select the next sample

– Follow the tutorial again for however many samples you would like to insert, just utilize another root key

pcmsynth6

 

In other news I have figured out how to sample my Casio and as I mentioned before it has some interesting percussion samples. I think while I am figuring out this chopping nonsense I am going to take some very LowFi .wav samples for people to have fun with. Who knows maybe there will be a PCMsynth preset with them.

There are also some fun sounds so I will most likely sample some of those over time as well.

Leave a Reply

